About the GCF

About the GCF

The Greater Cedarburg Foundation (GCF) is a permanent philanthropic organization whose purpose is to promote and encourage private funding in support of projects and programs that enhance the quality of life in the greater Cedarburg community. The Greater Cedarburg Foundation is a nonprofit corporation under Internal Revenue Code Section 501(c)(3). Contributions are tax deductible.

What Types of Projects Does the Foundation Support?

The Foundation supports projects and programs that enhance those attributes that make Cedarburg special. The Foundation considers many types of projects with an emphasis on those that focus on:

  • Preserving and enriching our cultural heritage
  • Enhancing our artistic and aesthetic experiences
  • Providing educational and community service opportunities for all ages

Who Decides What Projects the Foundation Supports?

The Foundation is managed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of men and women who live in the greater Cedarburg area. Members of the board have a wide range of experience in business and community service. Grant requests are evaluated by a committee of the board. Decisions are based on the relation of the project to the Foundation’s mission, the benefit to the community and funds available.

How Can I Give to the Foundation?

The goal of the Foundation is to establish an endowment that will provide grants to organizations for projects that support its mission. Outright donations and planned estate gifts are the Foundation’s primary funding sources. Individual and corporate gifts of any size are also welcome. The Foundation seeks to develop a broad base of donors who desire to leave a lasting legacy and positive impact on the community.  For details, visit the Legacy Society page.

Board of Directors

  • Joe Fazio – President
  • John Cordio – President Elect
  • Mark Langholz – Vice President
  • Dan Den Boer – Treasurer
  • Mark Burgoyne – Secretary
  • Mary Jane Baumgartner
  • Heather Cain
  • Carol Alexander Coutts
  • Barbara Janssen
  • Dale Lythjohan
  • Gail Ostermann
  • Mitch Quick
  • Steve Schowalter
  • Patricia Thome
  • Tim Wilkinson

Greater Milwaukee Foundation Liaison:
Will Janisch

Founders: Members who pledged at least $10,000 in the initial campaign:

  • The Armbruster Family
  • Dave and Vicki Bergstresser
  • C.J. “Bud” and Kay Beverung
  • The Biegert Family
  • Don and Helen Buettner
  • Calibre, Inc. – Todd Roberts
  • Jim and Sally Castle
  • Cedarburg Light and Water Utility
  • Cedarburg-Grafton Rotary Club
  • Brian and Cathy Collins
  • Christopher L. Doerr
  • Marilyn and David Doerr
  • Carl and Rita Edquist
  • Dean and Francine Fitting
  • 5 Corners GMC Truck
  • The Freeman Family
  • Greater Milwaukee Foundation
  • Jack and Susan Hale
  • Paul and Philia Hayes
  • Hepburn “Bootstrap” Foundation
  • Gordon and Jean Hepburn
  • Mal and Jill Hepburn
  • Jim and Laura Kacmarcik
  • Pat and Nancy Kennedy
  • Koehler Insurance Agency
  • Sharon and Bill LaMacchia
  • Landmark Preservation Society
  • The Levy Family
  • M & I Foundation
  • Newman Chevrolet
  • Barbara and Layton Olsen
  • Ozaukee Bank Foundation
  • Merlin and Gladys Rostad
  • Duey and Laura Stroebel
  • The Tillmann Family
  • In Honor of Paul Trappe
  • Tri-Par Qwik Stop
  • U.S. Bank Foundation
  • The Wernecke Family
  • Whyte, Hirschboeck, Dudek S.C.
  • The Wirth Family