Long time Cedarburg residents Paul and Philia Hayes were honored at the Greater Cedarburg Foundation’s 11th Annual Civic Award at the Cedarburg Cultural Center on February 20. The public was invited to this annual free event which celebrates those who have worked to make the community a wonderful place to live.The Hayes, who have lived in Cedarburg for 45 years, have been active members of the community during much of that time. “Paul and Philia have served the Cedarburg community in many different capacities during most of their lives here,” said Peg Edquist, President. “Philia has had a storied career on many civic committees as well as tremendous support of the arts. Paul has remained a staunch supporter of Cedarburg’s historic character and has written several articles and books which serve to preserve the memories of past generations.”Philia has served on numerous civic board and committees, including being the first woman appointed to the Police and Fire Commission, The Friends of the Library Board, Cedarburg Landmarks Commission, the Cedarburg Planning Commission, and she was elected to the Cedarburg Common Council in 1998. In 2002, she received a key to the City for Meritorious Civic Service.Philia has been active with the Cedarburg Cultural Center and served on their board and was president from 2006 to 2008. She continues her involvement at the center including as a member of the Architectural House Tour Committee and Historic Properties Committee.Paul was a journalist at the Milwaukee Journal from 1962 to 1995 and held numerous positions, including enviromental and science reporter and was a full time staff writer for Wisconsin magazine for seven years. Among his many writings about Cedarburg and the surrounding area was Cedarburg; Building a Town the Old Fashioned Way for the Milwaukee Journal’s Sunday Magazine in 1993, The Cedarburg Illusion, an essay for the book In My Neighborhood; Celebrating Wisconsin CitiesThe Dams of Cedarburg for the Wisconsin Academy Review in Madison, and Cedarburg Cultural Center: Celebrating a Quarter Century, for the Cedarburg Cultural Center.Paul was also a member of the Fire and Police Commission and was a member of the board of the Greater Cedarburg Foundation from 2002 to 2007. During that time, he was editor of its newsletter “Cedarburg … Now and Forever.” He has also volunteered at the Cedarburg Cultural Center and the Cedarburg Library.

This is the eleventh annual Civic Award event, which has honored several outstanding citizens in years past, including Merlin Rostad, Carl Edquist, Ralph Huiras, Edward Rappold, Bob Armbruster, Mal Hepburn, Don and Janet Levy, Layton and Barbara Olsen, Jim and Sandy Pape and Jim Coutts.

“This is our eleventh year and we never seem to run out of worthy candidates for this honor,” Edquist said. “As we all know, Cedarburg is a special place to live and these people have contributed so much and deserve to be honored by the community.”